You are what you EAT

Assalamualaikum.

Lets talk about food can we? I love to eat and I love to try new food. Mostly, of course I choose Malay food and second I prefer the Western’s. Its just not like I eat them very often but it would be my second choice if I eat at the restaurant. Chicken chop, fish and chips, spaghetti and some other food are really don’t let me to hold the hunger. Same with Malay food. I am so in love with sambal belacan. I have to admit that I’m not a fan of spicy food but 3 years in Kuala Pilah really keep my motor running on those kind of food.

The point I want to highlight here is how we want to choose the type of food for our body. Our body is so special and complex. If you treat them like a king and give them healthy food, they will support you by giving more energy and don’t let the toxins to conquer your body and vice versa.

Alhamdulillah my weight is being quite stable for about 4 years ago with normal BMI range. I am totally grateful with my weight and height as it is average for an Asian woman. I’ve managed to keep maintaining my body although I eat a lot — like A LOT. I’m 100% sure that it is all about genetics. I can tell that I got more genetics material from my dad compared to my mom ; its the only explanation for my height. That is why even though I eat a lot but my body still in shaped like no changes at all (only me know what has changed. LOL)

I want to share my eating habits. Again, it is HABITS. I don’t learn from anybody but its just come within me naturally. No influences.

1) Controlling food portion

Food portion is one of the most important thing if you want to stay healthy and of course, losing weight. This is what I do everytime I want to eat. I am a truly Malaysian and that is why I am overly-attached with rice. That’s right. No Atkins Diet for me. Usually I eat rice 2 times a day — lunch and dinner. Yeah, rice is starchy with high level of calories but it is one of the best energy source for your body. That is the best when it comes to Mother Nature.

How I control it? Just make sure that your rice is in a small portion like the size of your fist and not more than that.

The picture below may be the best reference.

Image

 

2) Soup lover ! ❤

Image

I am the biggest fan of soup. Any kind of soup, just tell me and I’m sure I’ll love it so much. Like I said before, it comes naturally. I just love to eat with the soupy feeling together with my rice especially when it comes to vegetable soup. My mom know me so well thus she make soup like every week and sometimes almost everyday. With the cauliflower, celery, broccoli, carrots, cabbages, mushrooms and potatoes, it is complete with the flavour and I got the healthy feeling when I take a sip. Believe me, it is very healthy and of course delicious.

3) Say NO to internal organs

If you asked me what kind of food I don’t like, my answer would be the internal organs. I don’t like the taste and also I know its bad for our health if we eat them very often. For example, the liver. As we know the liver functioned as the place where all the toxins accumulate thus would give bad impact to our health especially our brain. If you love to eat internal organs, make sure you don’t eat them frequently.

4) I won’t pick the pickles :p

For snacks, I’m totally not choosing pickles. It is not about me who over-protective about what I eat but its just because I don’t like them especially the taste. The souring taste really don’t catch my tongue. Once again, its bad for the kidneys and more important to the brain — such a bad effect for students in memorizing.

5) Fruits are the best 😀

Image

I guaranteed most people love fruits so much just like me. The taste of the food is quite important to me and fruits are the best. I can give the rates for what type of fruit I like and give 5 stars to watermelon ! I just love the juicy, fresh and sweet interior flesh (mouth-watering alert). Not forget to other fruits. Fruits contain a lot of vitamins and it would completing your body needs.

6) Chew, chew and chew

When I eat, I take a little time to chew my food — that is the reason why I am the last one who finished eating. First, its all about how I enjoyed the food. Second, I really don’t want to get indigestion which is the uncomfortable feeling inside my tummy that give me fully distraction for my sleep. It is also one of the sunnah from our beloved prophet, Rasulullah SAW to chew 44 times before you swallowed the food. It helps your body to digest and increase the efficiency of absorption in the small intestine (well I’m the science student). So, take your time and chew slowly.

7) Protein sources

When you eat, you have to make the right choice. Protein is one of the most important element that your body needed. For me, the greatest choice is fish. I choose fish instead of chicken and meat. Why? because fish coming fresh from the sea and directly to the market. On the other hand, for chicken, usually they will be breed and injected with some vitamins or chemicals or whatever to give the fast-grow effect. This is so not good for the chicken and of course, we as the consumer. Same goes to the meat.

8) Water, I choose you

At home, I prefer to drink water instead of other sweet drinks such as cordial, carbonate and caffeine. I just love the fresh and clean feeling of my throat and mouth after drinking water. Plus, the other drinks just increases your sugar level and you know its bad, right? Now, I am in the process to achieve my goal ; Drinks 8 glasses of water everyday. It sounds easy but its quite tough for me except if I have a fridge inside my bedroom. Hehe :p

9) Avoid processed food as much as you can

Well I want to make a confession here. I really can’t resist when it comes to nuggets, french fries, patties and other processed food. I know they are bad for my body but I try to go with an alternative to reduce the unhealthy-ness. How? Maybe you can just put them in the oven and just let them cooked instead of frying them in the pan full with cooking oil which you know high in cholesterol. Same goes to fast food. Maybe you can just put a limit on that. Once or twice in a month can you?

Those are the things I would like to share and hopefully my points can make a change in your daily life 🙂

Toodles.

Leave a Reply

